Hire an immigrant, and the outcome is often better than you expected

Hire an immigrant, and the outcome is often better than you expected

ยท

1 min read

Seeing many people get laid off from tech companies brought back the memory of my first laid-off experience ๐Ÿ˜‘

It was not good for sure, but I was lucky that I got the resident visa already at that time, and I got the UX working experience and the confidence that I could find another job soon. As an immigrant myself, totally understand how hard and challenging it is for an immigrant to find a job aligned with his/her career path ๐Ÿฅฒ

If you are a recruiter or hiring manager, consider giving immigrant job seekers more shots. Their competency of problem solving and resilience have been validated by the immigration experience itself, especially for those non-native speakers. They have a strong work ethic, and they may have different skill sets than domestic workers. They are multilingual, and can bring a fresh perspective to the workplace ๐Ÿ’ช

Just give them a chance, and the outcome is often better than you expected ๐ŸŒˆ

(image source: Visualcapitalist)

ย